Spring!… In a Little Communiqué Spot

pointer best

Looking for a particular type of drawing?   From cottages to child portraits to landscapes…Simply choose and click on a portrait ‘gallery’ link to view my artwork – listed by subject – in “Categories,” just over there to the right! 

NOTE:  Everything here is under my copyright and may NOT be reproduced in any way without permission.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

…Whether in Pen, Pencil or my latest Pastel…

 A Pretty Landscape Displayed on Your Walls Can Whisk You Away Like a Mini-Vacation Each Time You Look at It

England Oxford College

“Punting on the Magdalen,” River Cherwell at Magdalen College (University of Oxford), Oxford, England – now available in my newest gallery (to the right), European and UK Landscapes, Street Scenes (Full Pastel Color)

 

“Where is this place?” my friend asked, snatching up the print before I had a chance to show her.  “I think I’ve been there before!”

“I wondered if you had,” I smiled, knowing she once traveled quite a bit with her parents.  “It’s of England… Magdalen college at Oxford…”   

“Oh, I remember walking there…  you’ve really caught it.” 

“I love that spire,” I said… “and the reflections in the water.”  Even though I’ve never been there in person myself, seeing this scene in a photo and putting it to pastel,  makes me feel as if I were there too.  “Something in all those reflections conjures the feel of music to me too, somehow…”  

My mom once visited England – a dream come true for her (and still one of my own) — and one  of her most favorite spots was the charming town of Oxford.  So this one reminds me of her too… And reading of the wonderful history of the Magdalen college here on the River Orwell sparks the writer and artist in me, like the feel of water spray lightly on your face out on that boat on a sunlit afternoon…

It makes me imagine how famous alumni like C.S. Lewis learned and dreamed and wrote here on this small island located on the grounds of the college.  It doesn’t surprise me to read that Lewis loved to take this picturesque path (known as Addison’s walk and thought to have originated in the 16th Century), with it’s grand views of the Magdalen Tower and Bridge – Oxford landmarks — considering it a favorite meeting place with his fellows such as J. R. R. Tolkien.  

I love reading how it has been a tradition of over 500 years for the college choir to sing the hymn “Hymnus Eucharisticus” from atop Magdalen Tower at 6 a.m. every May Morning (May 1st, annually) — kicking off a celebration event with large crowds attending daytime festivities and evening balls.   And that the choir also sings the Choral evensong at chapel there every evening of the year, except Mondays.   

The photo I found was taken in current days, but I smiled at the attire of the young man and woman in the punting boat I included here – dressed as days of old, he sported a straw hat and old fashioned white coat, she a fancy English bonnet and gown (I added the parasol), upholding the history and charm of the setting.  And the tradition continues with the Magdalen Bridge Boat Tours where tourists can sign up for punting on the Magdalen themselves or by boatman guide.   A lovely way to spend an hour raves a recent traveler there in a five star comment given online…

magdalen college postcard

Vintage Postcard of Magdalen

Whether you are a world traveler, or simply love to dream of such someday journeys to beautiful lands we’ve seen in movies and read of in favorite books —

 I’m loving how working on new additions here in my European and UK Landscapes, Street Scenes (Full Pastel Color) makes me feel as if I am there in these beautiful spots —  and I hope they inspire a little daydreaming in you too!

Enough so that you’d like to add one of these prints to your walls – and enjoy a bit of a whisk away to quintessential England each time you see it in your home?  🙂 

Or maybe you have a favorite photo of a cherished trip you’d like put to portrait?

If so… email me at pam.depoyan@gmail.com and let’s talk sizes and prices that fit for you…   *

And please take a tour through more scenes of England and Italy here, with more added all the time…  European and UK Landscapes, Street Scenes (Full Pastel Color) 

Happy Summer Days in Pen and Ink, Pencil or Pastel Style Story!

Pam

.

*U.S. only for now – but if you are outside, and interested, let’s talk possibilities…

Feet on sakura petals : Stock Photo

Do you have any vintage family photos that might make special portraits?  I’d love to see them.  If I do a drawing from your photo, I will gift you with a mini-print of that piece.  

I’m especially interested in photos taken of young women or men of the 30’s or 40’s who kept the “home fires burning” (as described in my story above) or children of that era

Email your photos to me at pam.depoyan@gmail.com

 

Rose Cottage

“Rose Cottage Tearooms”  available in People and Landscapes After the English Heart

 

P.S.

I wonder if you might do me a favor? 🙂 Please talk about this site with your friends on Facebook, Twitter and other social media and refer them here…along with anyone you know who might be looking for a Pen and Ink artist to custom create a portrait of a cherished part of their lives. *

I look forward to hearing what you think as you take a gallery link tour throughout! And remember to stop in often, as I’ll be adding new ‘pieces’ as I create them — as well as changing up the message in this “little communiqué spot” from time to time, to ask your thoughts and to keep you in the loop of any special offers, updates or seasonal greetings.   🙂

.

How do I start a gallery tour?

pointer bestSimply choose and click on a portrait ‘gallery’ link in “Categories,” just over there to the right!  🙂

*  U.S. purchases only, for now [However, if you are outside the country, and are interested, let’s talk – in some cases I may have a way to work something out with mail arrangements etc. ] 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

guestbookSo happy to see you here at Picture it in Pen and Ink!  Won’t you sign my “guestbook” by leaving a comment in this little meeting spot?   🙂

~~~~~~~~

Disclaimer:  I have no knowledge regarding any ads this blogging host site may occasionally place at the bottom of a post, so I cannot endorse their information.

342 thoughts on “Spring!… In a Little Communiqué Spot

  1. Pam, I think old world charm never really goes out of fashion, and many (including me) love the thought of slower paced, gentler days. I see a young boy in your image above who is proud to be sailing his yacht solo on the boating lake for the very first time. Maybe he’s turning back to his proud father, who has been happily watching from the sidelines, eager to share some refreshment with him now. Your vintage sketches are delightful! It’s been a blessing to stop by your site from the #glimpsesofhisbeauty link up. Keep up the good work… 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Joy. Your words encourage me… I’ve been feeling a bit like my tastes are “out of step” though I do think these days of old are timeless, too – love your storyline about the boy in the center of this one! 🙂 He does look like he’s excited to tell someone something as he approaches… I appreciate your sharing your thoughts on it here! Stop in again…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These are lovely! I would take you up on it, but I’m a bit of an illustrator myself 🙂 Visiting from Coffee for your Heart linkup.

    Like

      1. It’s been a while, since I’ve had my own kids I haven’t done much… but I did a pic of a baby in a man’s hand that placed first in a state competition, and an Eskimo boy with his husky is one of my favorites…other than that, mostly either horses or fanciful…

        Like

  3. What a unique talent you have for drawing children! Love the little one walking. I was a child of the 30s so I’ll see if I have a photo you could use.

    Like

    1. I just added that one here today 🙂 I love it too… so sweet. It makes me see the children I’ve known as they take their first steps… Will be adding more as I do them this month, so do come back. Thanks, Faye! I’d love to see any photos you have! 🙂

      Like

  4. pam – you are so gifted not just in writing but in your drawing as well. I love all the pieces you shared on this post, but I was drawn to the little boy in the Irish hat and his cheeks! Oh and then the older sibling kissing the baby…. Thanks for linking up with #TuneInThursday last week. Hope to see you tomorrow too.

    Like

    1. I am amazed myself by how God is bringing out my art these days… never used to draw this depth before and I enjoy seeing them come to life too. 🙂 The two you mentioned are two of my favorites too! I’m adding a new one here right now (baby and pup in a tub) that I wasn’t sure was going to come out (the photo I used as a model was not the best quality so hard to see details) but it reminds me of those old Good Housekeeping cover artists I love… Thanks, Debbie!

      Like

  5. You’re so right. There is something so precious about hearing your children practice piano. Or other instruments. Our son plays guitar and sax, and I miss hearing his music fill the house. Beautiful art!

    Like

  6. The words are as lyrical as music and the drawing is inviting. While I find the painting and photo beautiful, no memories of little children playing the piano are stirred. I played accordion for awhile and then plunked out a few notes on the piano from an elective class I took in college. But playing the piano was comforting on days when my spirits needed lifting. Visiting from Faith and Friends.
    Blessings,
    Janis

    Like

Leave a Reply

