People and Landscapes After the English Heart

© Pam Depoyan… See something here you’d enjoy buying as a print? Inspired to order a custom Pen and Ink drawing specific to your life and perhaps love of all things Brit?   🙂  Contact me at pam.depoyan@gmail.com

 .

IN THE GALLERY ROOM:  More to come  here. 

I love all things England and am always attracted to the beauty of their landscape and architecture, charm of tea and scones and Cotswald cottages, beauty and warmth of old Oxford style college grounds, not to mention Downton!  I have in mind to draw some landscapes with beautiful old stone bridges and cottages ,  homes lined with wonderful wrought iron fences , library rooms where the walls are lined with books, perhaps some pretty teacups and teapots as well…

.Ideas for this Ladies’ English Garden Tea: and Cottage Tearooms

  • Throw a Mother-Daughter [or… Auntie-Niece! 🙂 ] tea party for your young girl’s birthday and use note-sized cards of these prints as your placecards!  
  • Tuck smaller prints in and among books on shelves or add cosy charm to your living room, den or kitchen with a larger one or two
  • Gift a print to a fellow “lover of all things British”
  • Purchase in greeting card size to use as invites for a ladies luncheon, bridal shower etc.
  • Invite friends over for a British-Style Afternoon Tea and Hat party and use card size prints of these at your table settings… or set the mood with a larger print for your menu board
  • Deck out a child’s room with “story board illustrations” reminiscent of classic books and use them to create story time  of your own imagination as you view them together each day…

 

“Caroler at the Window”

11×14 Print $85

 9×12 Print $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

 

“Gathering Daisies as We May

11×14 print – $85

9×12 print – $50

mini print (5×7 – $25

.

Also available with less color, more concentrating on the yellow…

.

.

 

.

 

.

.

“Out on the Meadow Together” 

11×14 print – $85

9×12 print – $50

mini print (5×7 – $25

.

 

Little Girl with Roses- darkened

“Vivvie”

               11×14 print – $85

9×12 print – $50

  mini print (5×7 – $25

.

Sunday in the Park

“Sunday Yachting in the Park”

11×14 print available – $85

9×12 print – $50

           mini print (5×7) – $25

Note:  “Sunday Yachting in the Park” stands alone of course, but I drew this with the idea of a “companion” piece for This Bouquet’s For You” (scroll below)  of the same era…

Like some color added?  Just ask…

Summer in the Park-Color

.

little-girl-with-white-dress-and-satin-sash

“This Bouquet’s For You”

11×14 Original  (in a private collection)

11×14 Print $85

 9×12 Print $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

.

England-White Cottage by Sea

“Windemere Cottage…seaside in Devon, England”

11×14 Original

11×14 Print – $85

9×12 print – $50

Mini Print (around 5×7) – $25

.

Blue in a Garden

“Inside a Child’s Corner of an English Garden”

(With Bluebells and Larkspur, akin to Bluebonnets…  🙂  )

Original 9×12

9×12 Print – $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

.

Blue with Lambs on Hill

“Daffodils and Bluebells Sway”

Original 9×12

9×12 Print – $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

.

valentine-boy-england

“Love finds a way…Special Delivery”

11×14 Original

9×12 print $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

children-with-sailboat

“Sails on Water Lights”

11×14 Original  (in a private collection)

11×14 Print $85

 9×12 Print $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

wedding-guest

“Wedding Guests on the Churchyard Walk” (Somewhere in England)

11×14 Original  (in a private collection)

11×14 Print $85

 9×12 Print $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

.

rosewood-with-new-pathway

Rosewood

Original $175 – In a Private Collection

11×14 print available – $85 

9×12 print –  $50

miniature print (5×7) $25

Rose Cottage

Rose Cottage Tearooms; Torquay – a seaside town in Devon, England

pen and ink with pastel

Original $175 – In a Private Collection

11×14 print available – $85 

9×12 print –  $50

miniature print (5×7) $25

[Oh, I love this one.  Mm…I can almost feel myself walking with the figures there,  breathing in the salt air in this, possibly because it reminds me of  trips I’ve taken to Carmel, California as well as an English scene I’ve only read of in books…]

      Periwinkle Cottage

Periwinkle Cottage Tearooms, Selworthy Green, England 

pen and ink with pastel

Original $175 – In a private collection

11×14 print available – $85 

9×12 print –  $50

miniature print (5×7) $25

[When I increased the size of the photo I used as my drawing model, I found this cottage actually has what looks like a thatched roof made of lavender!  I can imagine driving  over rolling emerald hills and coming upon this charming scene – like a dream…  🙂  Even a little secret garden gate hidden behind the bench…]

Cottage Tearooms

The Cottage Tearooms, The Cotswolds, England

pen and ink with pastel

Original $175 – In a private collection

11×14 print available – $85 

9×12 print –  $50

miniature print (5×7) $25

(Don’t you love this charming real life tearoom?  I can almost hear the bell on the door calling me to tea and crumpets, or scones with clotted cream…   🙂  I think this will be the first of many of England’s Tearooms I will be adding here… Just can’t get enough of these!  I used a combo of pen and ink, graphite pencil and pastel to achieve this soft look…)

Garden Party

.Ladies’ English Garden Tea

pen and ink

Original $175 – In a private collection

11×14 print available – $85 

9×12 print –  $50

miniature print (5×7) $25

 .

.

If you love the images shown in this section, you might also enjoy these galleries:  🙂

pointer best

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Disclaimer:  I have no knowledge regarding any ads this blogging host site may occasionally place at the bottom of a post so cannot endorse their information.

30 thoughts on “People and Landscapes After the English Heart

  1. Hi Pam, oh this cottage looks so wonderfully inviting I wish I could walk in the door and see all that awaits inside. I don’t know if you remember an artist that painted cottages Marty Bell but I actually won an original painting by her along time ago and I have it hanging here. I cannot wait to see more of your cottages. 🙂 I like the way you put just a little bit of color. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi MaryLou! You won’t believe this but I was actually thinking of Marty Bell today and looked her up! She is deceased now… but her paintings are still available in Chatsworth. How wonderful that you won one of her paintings! What does it look like? I have a print of one that I love…It’s in an oval frame, shows a cottage with a lot of flowers and a beautiful sky. My mom bought several of hers… sort of like Kincaid in style. I have always loved English cottages. Online it said she was pretty much self taught. Interesting. Yes, I feel the same about this tearoom… just makes me want to go inside too! I found several beautiful photos of other tearooms in England that I want to draw too… Thanks for sharing and letting me know you were here today… I’m glad you like this one too. In person, the flowers look 3-d, I love that. This is located in the Cotswolds where they filmed The Christmas Candle...

      Like

  2. Hi Pam, the name of the cottage that I have a painting of is “Blyton Cottage”. I am wondering if she made it up or it is a real cottage in England. Both my mom and I loved cottages. I used to have some that were little sculptures but when I did move I had to decide what I could take and what I had room for here so I left a few of them behind. I remember when I won the painting there was a lady that actually was quite upset that she didn’t win it. Amazing after all of these years remembering that. I believe that we were actually in her home in Chatsworth and I am thinking it had something to do with church a women’s tea. I hadn’t thought about her until I did see your cottage. I wonder if I look up that painting if it would be online under her website. Bye for now and looking forward to more cottages. I am amazed how many drawings you have on your new website and how many words you have written for your blog. Even if I don’t comment I am looking at your drawings and reading your words. Thank you for sharing all that God has gifted you with. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Marylou. It’s nice to know someone is looking… 🙂 I love the name of that cottage. Reminds me of a favorite childhood British Author…Enid Blyton. I bet she did it at least from some inspiration of a real place, because I heard that she traveled in England… Too bad for that other woman losing it, but I think you were meant to have it! A blessing. I’ve been able to do several drawings lately and it’s fun to have this place to post them too… 🙂 Thank you for following!

      Like

      1. Hi Pam, I found another one of Marty Bell’s cottages with a really cute name… Plum Cake Cottage. I didn’t know that she did travel to England. It would be interesting to learn more about her. 🙂

        Like

  3. Oh, Pam! how I love these tearoom renderings. They take me back to England. Just nothing like it here. And Americans do NOT know how to serve tea. I’ve yet to drink it hot here. And don’t get me started on tea cozies! 🙂 You bring such joy and fond remembrances to me through your artwork. They’d make a great card series. And my dream remains for you to be able to visit these in person! I, too. I’d love to go back.
    Wishing you a beautiful Valentine’s Day on Sunday.
    Love
    Lynn

    Like

    1. I love drawing these too! I need to look for some more photos to render in illustration! Thanks, Lynn. They whisk me to the England I envision too… I’ve seen some of those true tea cozies… so cute. Yes, hot tea and warm scones! Yum! Happy Valentines to you too! I’m so glad you are enjoying these as much as I am… hopefully they strike a chord with many people… 🙂

      Like

  4. You are giving me ideas for a future birthday or Christmas gift for my mom. I just remembered how you do drawings of people’s homes, well my mom is all about our Irish Ancestry and has visited Ireland seven times! Recently, she came back with a photo of the Irish cottage of grandparents lived in, but I don’t remember if it was in disrepair or not. I will have to discretely research this which will be interesting since they live four hours away from me. But after seeing these prints, I’m sure you could produce something beautiful and what a meaningful gift!

    I will let you know if this is something I will be able to pursue. 🙂

    I just LOVE your drawings! I crawl into every one!

    Like

  5. Oh, Karen that sounds like something I’d SO love to draw!! I set this site up to hopefully spark interest from potential clients who envision gifts exactly as you describe – yes, house portraits but other subjects too. I LOVE how you put that… that you crawl into each of my drawings. That’s exactly how I hope people feel when they see them and means a lot to me to hear that! . 🙂 (You might like the link I have to The Luck of the Irish drawings — on the right of the blog– if you haven’t seen those yet too… ) I look forward to hearing more when you find out more about the cottage!

    Like

  6. I love these, Pam. I have always wanted to live in a house with a thatched roof.; maybe one the Lord will allow me to at least visit one. Thanks for sharing these beauties with Thankful Thursdays.

    Like

  7. You have such a beautiful gift! Your drawings are ones that I wold love to jump into myself to explore and see the beauty for myself. Thank you for sharing this gift with all of us.

    Like

  8. I too have a love of England…my son studied at Oxford…love Downton Abbey, and the list goes on and on. I was actually born in France, so this is my first love, but your art captures such beauty and character of a time period and place I wish I could spend more time living within. So glad to have you sharing your passion on Fresh Market Friday! Crystal~

    Like

    1. Oh… Oxford. I’d love to go there some day. Love what I’ve seen of it onscreen. Born in France, you might enjoy an interview I did on my writing apples of gold blog with writer Elizabeth Musser in France… 🙂

      I just did one French Country scene here and plan to add some more soon… Thank you for those lovely words, Crystal! I do try to capture exactly that feel you describe!

      Like

Leave a Reply

