Home Portraits: With A Touch of Color

© Pam Depoyan… See something here you’d enjoy buying as a print? Inspired by these to order a custom Pen and Ink drawing specific to your life? Contact me at pam.depoyan@gmail.com

.

IN THE GALLERY ROOM:  I’ll tell you a secret:  Though I’m smitten with the frontispiece quality of classic black and white — sometimes as I study a house photo to draw, I can’t resist a pop of color.  The creamy pale yellow of a bungalow.   The sky blue of the shutters.   If not on the original, I may add it to a print… just to see. 

Other times, you, the client request that color touch.  I love to hear the role that color plays in your story behind the illustration, and to incorporate that  into the drawing for you.  The red door and shutters on the new widow’s home of so many family memories…  Or the red and white stripes of ‘Dad’s’ flag…  

Ideas:

  • Gift a print of one of these charmers to someone who loves renovating old homes (whether on hands or virtually via HGTV! 🙂 )
  • Decorate an office, home library wall or bookshelf with prints
  • Use prints of the blue shutter storybook drawing or the blue door and awning children’s shop (shown below) to decorate a child’s room
  • Commission your own home portrait with a pop of color!

menlow-park-bungalow

1926 Craftsman Cottage Bungalow in Menlo Park, California

Original 11×14 – In Private Collection

11×14 print – $85

9×12 print – $50

.

bronson-red-door-house-for-pk

Colonial Red Door Cottage

Original 9×12 – In Private Collection

9×12 print available – $50

*also available in solid black and white

scan0021

.A 1906 Bungalow in Portland, Oregon

.

scan0019

Love this type of storybook cottage charmer!  (This one’s in my own ‘back yard’)

.

scan0003

.sweet cottage with modern touch

.

scan0016

.Up close colonial with yellow door

scan0010

1930’s bungalow

.

scan0010

scan0001

An 1800’s home in Michigan when the spring Magnolia are in bloom.  :).  I did the original in black and white, (Compare with the original without color here:  Home Portraits: Classic In Black and White) but just thought I’d see what it looked like to add a bit of soft green or lavender pastel to a print…  A whole other mood… (Note: in person, the background is not so dark.  Scanning them here for you to see sometimes darkens the look here…)

 .

scan0003

And since I’m going to away to prepare a place for you, I’ll come back again,and welcome you into My Presence so that you may be where I am        . ~ John

scan0023

https://wordglow.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/scan00021.jpg?w=409&h=526

Something about this one reminds me of a blustery day with Mary Poppins… it is really of a local a children’s clothing shop 

.

pointer bestFor more house portraits, check out:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Disclaimer:  I have no knowledge regarding any ads this blogging host site may occasionally place at the bottom of a post so cannot endorse their information.

6 thoughts on “Home Portraits: With A Touch of Color

  1. Pam, Once again, I enjoyed looking at these drawings! Love them all!! The hints of color just add to the beauty of them.

    May God continue to bless your incredible talent. You truly bless everyone through it. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you…as always… Karen! I just added a new one you might enjoy under “heritage homes…” link (categories on the right)… an autumn look at a dear cottage where friends used to live…. (I’ll be writing more about it soon in the communique spot, but put it on here right now.) I appreciate your prayer to bless the work of my hands! 🙂 Looking to Him to open doors I have not yet imagined…

      Like

    1. Oh, you caught something that catches me too… that fairy tale quality of some of these cottages (like the gray one with blue shutters)! I just completed another that makes me feel that way (“Fall Umbrella tree at Heirloom House Cottage,” in my Heritage Home Portraits…An Ode to Currier & Ives category gallery link… So glad you enjoy these fairy tale cottages too! And the pops of color! Thanks, Gillena!

      Like

Leave a Reply

