Bluebonnet Landscapes, Glen to Glen (Full Pastel Color)

© Pam Depoyan… See something here you’d enjoy buying as a print? Inspired to order a custom Pen and Ink/Pencil or Pastel drawing specific to your life? Contact me at pam.depoyan@gmail.com

IN THE GALLERY ROOM:

Texas-Bluebonnet

BLUEBONNETS OF TEXAS AND SCOTLAND

OH, when you come across a blue flower in nature, doesn’t that amazing color just speak to the soul?

There’s something so ethereal – heaven come to earth – in these endlessly  blue meadows  that flows peace like ocean and sky in a way that just seems rare as the periwinkle gem of Tanzanite. 

Recently I saw a beautiful master oil painting of Texas bluebonnets on PBS’ Antique Roadshow and recalled a former co-worker extolling the wonder of this extraordinary flower that seems to take over glen and field with its glory.  Researching, I discovered they predominantly bloom in such profusion in just Texas and Scotland!  

The Roadshow painting inspired me to venture (momentarily!) away from black and white into full color and recreate such beauties here for you… though more in a contemporary impressionistic style – the kind where when you stand just a foot or two away from the image the scene becomes even more ‘real’ and flower-like…  

May these scenes flow over you as they do over me!  I’d love to hear if they are as irresistible to you too…    🙂   I think this will be a medium I come back to again and again, so do stop by for more as I add them in this gallery…

.

Interested in purchasing a  print?

  Contact me at pam.depoyan@gmail.com

.

“Bluebonnet Meadow”

Original 9×12

9×12 Print – $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

.

“Bluebonnet Sea Under Wide Texas Sky”

Original 9×12

9×12 Print – $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

.

“Bluebonnets Carpet A Scottish Glen”

Original 9×12

9×12 Print – $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

.

Blue with path

“Winding Road of Bluebonnets”

Original 9×12

9×12 Print – $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

.

Blue Dawn

“Dawn Lights over Bluebonnet meadow”

Original 9×12

9×12 Print – $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

.

Blue with Stone House

“Old Stone Cottage at Bluebonnet Time”

Original 9×12

9×12 Print – $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

.

Blue in a Garden

“Inside a Child’s Corner of an English Garden”

(With Bluebells and Larkspur, akin to Bluebonnets…  🙂  )

Original 9×12

9×12 Print – $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

.

Blue with Lambs on Hill

“Daffodils and Bluebells Sway”

Original 9×12

9×12 Print – $50

mini print (5×7) – $25

26 thoughts on “Bluebonnet Landscapes, Glen to Glen (Full Pastel Color)

    1. Me too… I wish I could see the real bluebonnets in person, the photos I’ve seen are phenomenal. Thanks, Amy — I’m so happy you loved these simple color images I have drawn! You know I mostly do the black and white drawings, but I’ve been enjoying the creating of these, experimenting with pastels… 🙂

      Like

  1. Such Lovely watercolors……….my Aunt used to live in Texas and sent me some pics of the Texas
    Blue Bonnets and Indian paintbrush…………so gorgeous…..
    You did a very nice job on these.
    Blessings,
    Nellie
    and hope you get to see some bluebonnets up close and personal one day.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your lovely and encouraging words, Nellie. These are pastels, but I think they definitely have a watercolor look about them! 🙂 I’m not familiar with “Indian paintbrush” but I love the name! Blessings to you too!

      Like

  2. Pam, These are just lovely! I so love flowers in nature and I’m avid about wildflowers. Thank you for sharing. I found it so interesting that the bluebonnets only grow in Texas and Scotland!

    Like

  3. Beautiful glens and fields! This is my first time to your blog and I like it! Your drawings are so pretty and I really like your trees. There is something special about your trees! I will be back to visit more. Happy PPF! Hugz, Rasz

    Like

    1. Thank you, Rasz. Welcome to this site! I do love to draw trees and I’m so glad you like them! Most of my work here is black and white pen and ink and pencil with maybe a pop of color occasionally, but I have been having fun trying some full pastels here in a bit of a different style for me. Come again…

      Like

      1. Hi Pam. I love drawing with graphite and ink wit a little color too. It feels so good in the evening to unwind. My first love is mixed-media…second drawing, altho’ drawing is coming up fast. I will definitely come back. Hugz, Rasz

        Like

      2. I agree about how it really unwinds us… I never had time when I was working corporately, and now I am realizing how much I missed the way drawing relaxes… I am loving graphite too. Never even knew about it until recently, but in many ways it reminds me of painting… thanks again…

        Like

  4. These are gorgeous Pam! Hubby and I had a trip planned for Texas this spring to see the Blue Bonnets. Things got too busy and we decided to wait until next year. Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed these, Jann! (For some reason, I think the scans of these aren’t showing as well as I’d like, or as nice as in person, so it means a lot.) That blue is certainly entrancing… hope you do get there next year. 🙂 My photographer friend was asking me exactly when the bluebonnets bloomed, and I wasn’t sure…

      Like

  5. Pam, these are such beautiful pastels! I never really thought about it before, but I do love a good blue flower! There is something so clear and awe inspiring about the colors in nature. Thanks for sharing your art and thanks for linking up with #TuneInThursday this week. See you next time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

